Tags

, , , ,

I just got the new Manual Food Processor the other day and decided to give it a try while making a couple of different recipes yesterday.  I was making a great Bean and Quinoa Salad (from Canadian Living) and used the processor to chop up my cilantro.  You always have to buy such a big bunch of cilantro, so I chopped it all up in the processor (in batches) and froze what I wasn`t using.  There are a couple of different ways to freeze herbs.  I decided to try the ice cube tray method where you put some in each section of the tray and put a bit of water in, freeze it, then top it up with more water and freeze again.  Later in the day I tried a different method with green onions that I think I like better (see it here).

    

Later in the day I was making ribs and thought mashed potatoes would be a nice side.  If you need to make a lot, I wouldn`t use the manual food processor, but we`re just a family of 3 (soon to be 4!).  I cut up 4 medium red potatoes and boiled them with the skins on.  I put the cooked potatoes in the processor in two batches and to each batch I added some butter, milk and chopped green onions.  To make the potatoes even better, I also stirred in some Crushed Peppercorn & Garlic Rub (this is also my favourite rubbed with oil on steak).  The results were delicious (and colourful)! 

I look forward to using this tool when preparing small batches of homemade baby food, especially just to mix up something that has been cooked for the rest of the family for dinner that night. 

 

